Miscellanea of July 2013

A Q&A Post

First up, I have been kindly featured in W3 Sidecar, in a Q&A post.  My thanks go out to Marissa Bell Toffoli for the opportunity!

Blog Browser Day

Yesterday’s post about the new Blog Browser Day has been greeted with phenomenal success!  I already have several blog recommendations lined up for this coming Saturday (3rd August).  I would like to thank everybody who has made recommendations and/or given their support to the idea.  It is always a delight when such feedback is received so quickly!

A Little Disappointed

Having read about the success other authors have enjoyed by releasing their books as paperbacks, usually using Print on Demand (POD), I took the plunge, as you may know.  It is rather disappointing, then, that I have, to date, had not one sale of even one of my paperbacks.  While I love having my own copies  as paperbacks, I have to seriously consider whether the effort involved in getting there is worthwhile.  Perhaps I was mistaken in not using Amazon’s Createspace as the POD service, but after receiving not one response from them to a couple of simple questions, I decided to find a more responsive service.  I am very reluctant to now turn my back on skoobebooks, who put so much work and help into the books.

If there’s anybody out there with more experience of POD, I’d love to hear from you!  You can either comment here or use the blog’s contact form (which is private).

Life, Art and Possible Misbehaviour

My good friend Seumas Gallacher raises this sticky issue in his blog.  We all know that Life imitates Art, and vice versa, but when does this become an issue for real concern?  What happens, for instance, when Art imitates Art?  What is provable when, for example, you see a film that so closely resemble something you wrote that you feel convinced there’s theft involved?  If you’re a hugely successful author, then maybe the problem isn’t so big.  You probably have the power to go into battle.  What is the situation, though, for a new author, especially a self-published Indie, in the same position?  Do we really have any choice other than to just ‘suck it up’?  I know, for sure, that there’s no way that I could afford to charge into court and demand the rectification of the situation.  It’s a sobering thought.  As if we didn’t have enough to worry about with piracy of our books by more mundane means!

And with that, I’ll close today’s miscellanea!

~ Steve

This entry was posted in general, Steve K Smy and tagged , , , , , , , by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

8 thoughts on “Miscellanea of July 2013

  1. Good Post on Q&A Steve, I reblogged it, then realised, I hadn’t reblogged it onto my WordPress blog, it went to my Tumblr blog, which is only there to draw people in from Tumblr as well as to give the authors publicity there, SIGH, must go take some more tablets, the last lot haven’t kicked in yet 😀

  2. I’ve used Createspace for both my books and found them quite responsive when I’ve had queries.
    The great thing about having print copies is that you can hand sell them – whether it’s via friends and family or through book events (people still like signed copies!). I’ve also managed to get some print copies into libraries and indie bookstores – though the latter is a tough sell because if they only take a couple of copies and stick them on the regular fiction shelves, you have to be lucky for people to find them.Having a print copy to show makes it a lot easier to start conversations with people who might be willing to display your books – recently while staying at the Jersey shore the hotel manager offered to display some copies of my latest novel in her gift shop (that novel takes place on a beach and has a sketch of a beach on the cover) – a potential sales outlet that I would have missed if I’d only had e-books.

    • Thanks for the feedback, Mel. You actually touch on one of the things I asked about but never got a reply to. You say that you have print books at hand to sell to whoever is willing to buy. I would assume that you have to buy those copies from Createspace. Even at a discount, however, I couldn’t afford to do so 😦 I did ask whether you are provided with a one-off batch of books at no charge to begin with, but they never answered so I’m none the wiser. As for ebooks, I could, for example, get some mini CDs for a few pence each, including the jewel cases, and burn one or more ebooks onto each and print case inserts. That would be a far cheaper alternative for me 😉

Please leave your comment(s)

