Unexpected Post

I wasn’t planning on writing a post today.  In fact, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to!  This isn’t an illuminating or entertaining post, and it’s not about books and so on.  It’s more personal, to a point.

Yesterday started off badly and went rapidly downhill.  It culminated in something that put the vast majority of the rest into context.  My father, like me, hates telephones – especially talking on them!  Yesterday evening, he ‘phoned us.  My blood ran cold and I felt as if somebody or something was crushing my chest and heart simultaneously.  Neither I nor Jenny can recall the last time he rang!  It has to be decades ago.  It transpired that my eldest sister (the matriarch of the family, now) was rushed into hospital in the early hours of the morning.  Now, she cares for a severely disabled husband who is several times her size (she’s tiny) and my father who is in his 80s, has vision impairment and is infirm.  There has been a tendency for her to be seen as ‘the rock’, but let’s be honest about things!  She’s not the strongest person physically, she’s not young by any measure, and nobody is that strong.  What’s gotten her through everything is her ability to out-stubborn anybody and anything!

Obviously, things are very uncertain.  The hospital have done their tests and kept my sister in overnight, with promises to provide answers from the test results.  We’ll see.

In the meantime, what I post, when and so on is all subject to how things progress.  I would like to thank everybody who has already given me their support and understanding!

This entry was posted in general, Steve K Smy and tagged , by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

37 thoughts on “Unexpected Post

    • Thanks Candace. I wish she was as strong as she thinks she is, and so many others seem to. All her strength is built on pure stubborn – physically she’s not even as strong as me, and trust me – that’s saying a lot!

    • Thanks Barbara. I wish it had told her years ago! It’s perilously close to being far too late to help as much as it should. And getting her to listen will be a major task of persuasion!

    • Thanks Chris. We’re all on tenterhooks right now, waiting for the medical verdict, and waiting to see if she’ll do as she should. Her husband is surrounded by family, right up to great grandchildren, ready to pitch in – if they’re allowed to. My dad will be well cared for and we have family spread across town ready to do all they can. Obviously, we wish we could do more ourselves but we face some major obstacles, like my wife having to work full time. My sister’s been available at a single ‘phone call. Tha’s difficult to match.

    • Thanks Kandy. I guess that’s why we tend to make doctors the targets of our frustrations and fears. Of course, it would be a bit less of that if only they’d give us some clues. These days, they’re not even willing to commit on when somebody will be sent home! 😦 It’s a very high, rough, thick wall we beat our heads against…

  1. Steve,
    Just so you know I have your sister in my prayers. It is never easy when the “rock” of the family suddenly needs support. I can offer my prayers and will do so.

  2. I wish your sister a very speedy recovery Steve and hope all goes well for you and the rest of your family. She sounds a real tough cookie to do what she does – I’m sure that’ll help to pull her thro’.

Please leave your comment(s)

