News and Questioning

Double Hit Saturday!

Today sees me being doubly honoured!  First up is an interview by Amanda Keeney author of A Whisper of Hope (to be released 1st October).  Next, and a total surprise to me, is a feature thanks to Chris, of The Story Reading Ape blog.  I cannot begin to express my gratitude for the kindness of these good people, and their generous support!  It is such things that demonstrate, over and over again just what a wonderful community authors enjoy online.

A Growth Into Uncertainty (WIP)

The latest book for the G1: The Guardians series has entered that mysterious borderland between being a novella and being a novel!  Currently a touch over 41,500 words long, the story is caught in a grey area, which may result in my not knowing how to classify it.  According to the guidelines on Wikipedia that I’ve been using, 40,000 words is the lower limit of novel length.  But the Wikipedia article also points out that some publishers consider the minimum to be 50,000 words!  I feel no desire to keep writing to simply pad out the story and thereby cross the 50,000 word boundary.  If it happens naturally, then there’ll be no problem, of course, but I have no idea, at this moment, where, or when, the story will conclude.  I’ll admit that the size of the story surprised me quite considerably.  When I started writing it, I never expected it to be so long!  There’s definitely a part of me that would be very happy, and satisfied, if the story does breach the 50,000 words.  It would, after all, be my first novel in the period since returning to serious writing.  To me, that’s huge!

Facebook(?) Fan Pages

Knowing just how limited the impact of Facebook is on bringing people to the blog, I’m unsure of whether to do more there.  I was, a few days ago, contemplating following the lead of other others and creating fan pages specific to individual books and/or series.  It’s very difficult to decide, though.  I think it would just be very sad if I created the page(s) and it/they received no traffic!  There is an alternative, of course.  I could create pages here, on the blog.  They would appear under the Works by Steve K Smy – Published Works menu options, with a page to each series, at least, and featuring some background, a list of the books available, and interactivity via the comments.  If you have any thoughts on the two options, I’d love to hear from you!

Do any of you use Facebook fan pages that are specific to works rather than general to yourself?  I only have the general flavour page at the moment and traffic fluctuates wildly from day to day and week to week.

~ Steve

This entry was posted in Author, Feature, Interview, Novel, Novella, Participation Post, Steve K Smy, WIP, WordPress, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

12 thoughts on “News and Questioning

  1. Keep it simple…..You are everywhere already! I don’t need more …put a bibliography, where books are for sale. Use Facebook just to publisise things, also twitter

  2. I think people are fed up with overload! Everything is linked to everything….Twitter, Goodreads, blogs etc etc…. I think, yeah get a facebook page…i use my normal facebook to post about stories abd books for sale…hey they are my audience and customers…but also I post other stuff too, so they don’t get bored to death…you have to be pretty dedicated to follow one facebook page about a ook or story…Blogs too, sorry mate…but who has time to read them all? I get about 15 posts a day from bloggers i like, plus links on Facebook…and to be honest, I don’t read half of it…who has the time? So maybe less is better…posts about stories publsihed..links to places stories are and links to where books can be bought, and also reviews etc…. just saying like x

    • Thanks Nick :) Excellent points – and advice ;) I sometimes like to ‘test the waters’, so that my decisions aren’t based solely on my own views alone, after all – none of us is right all the time :D Feedback is extremely useful then :)

  3. Here’s my page i set up…simple as…. GIves me time to concentrate on getting more stuff published….I have a page on Goodreads, not on there much, but people put reviews….an Ether Author page, getting more and more popular..thru promotion on my Facebook page…not facebook Author page…just my page…. and twitter….which i only use to promote writing…and of course an Amazon page….. http://www.nickgerrard.com

    Date: Sat, 22 Jun 2013 10:18:04 +0000 To: nicc63@hotmail.com

    • Thanks! I’ve got just about all of that, and just update as and when ;) I’ve never heard of Ether, though. Mind you, I pruned about half a dozen sites I was on this week – just no feedback from them, no clicks through to anywhere else – even those with my free stuff on — tons of downloads but nothing, just silence. So now they’re gone, for good ;)

  4. I have a Facebook page, but it is just general for myself. I would think individual pages for each work would be time consuming to maintain!

Please leave your comment(s)

