“The Weirdstone of Brisingamen” by Alan Garner – A Children’s Book Review

The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner, is one of my all time favourite children’s books, together with the sequel, The Moon of Gomrath by Alan Garner The Moon of Gomrath . They had a profound impact on me as a child, such that when I and my parents holidayed in the Peak District one year, and I was an adult, I had an overwhelming desire to visit Alderley Edge (which sadly never happened). The adventures of Colin and Susan – sometimes frightening – are told at the perfect pace for younger readers. The connections to fairy tales, legends and the ancient “Matter of Britain” give the tales a depth that will infect the imagination. I can still read and enjoy them now, as a (very) mature adult. There are, indeed, times when these tales appear as faint echoes in my own writing.

If you’re not inclined to wrap your children’s imaginations in cotton wool to protect them from frights, then let them read these books – or (better still) read them to them! And no, I don’t mean get audio books or radio/TV dramatisations! Part of the magic is in knowing that so many of the locations are very real, but seeing TV images of them destroys it all – the imagination has to have room to work. And the same applies to voices – let the imagination create those, not actors. A parent reading aloud is different, because the voice is familiar, and that allows free reign to the child’s imagination, rather like that odd phenomenon of always remembering, or dreaming about, black and white movies in colour!

Both books are 5 star reads! (I’d give them 10 out 5 if I could.)

View all my reviews

~ Steve

This entry was posted in Feature, Novel, Review, Steve K Smy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

2 thoughts on ““The Weirdstone of Brisingamen” by Alan Garner – A Children’s Book Review

    • Definitely worth finding them 🙂 I can only speak for the two I mention as,sadly, I’ve never gotten copies of his other books and somehow something else is always a higher priority 😦

Please leave your comment(s)

