Stats And What They Might Reveal

There’s always much made of social networking.  Some of it is useful, and that’s undeniable.  Whether it gets sales or not is another matter entirely.  I’ve done a quick analysis of the social networks and made some discoveries which may interest you.  I’ve also looked at the search engines and other ‘referrers’ to Imagineer-ing.

Since I started this blog:

1

WordPress Reader
(used by followers)
274 (5.5%)
2 Google Search 219 (4.4%)
3 Facebook 218 (4.4%)
4 Yahoo mail
(mostly from Yahoo Groups)
102 (2.0%)
5 Twitter 95 (1.9%)
6 Goodreads 83 (1.7%)
7 Bing 33 (0.7%)
8 Yahoo Search 30 (0.6%)
9 LinkedIn 18 (0.3%)
10 Windows Live Mail 16 (0.3%)
11 Tumblr 14 (0.3%)
12 StumbleUpon 6 (0.1%)
13 Pinterest 4 ( – )
14 Networked Blogs 2 ( – )
15 Ask Search 1 ( – )
Total of all above 1115 (22.4%)
All other referrers 3864 (77.6%)
The itemised referrers are the common ones most of us regard as being essential to our statistics.  “Surely,” we think, “these grand bodies are what drive traffic our way?”  The figures above suggest a different reality.  Less than a quarter of views are generated by people using these major sites!  More than three-quarters come from other sites, like the blogs of fellow authors and book lovers in general.  Personally I’m staggered by this revelation!  Considering the investment in time and effort involved in these sites, especially the social networks, I think the results are rather disappointing.
The fact that Facebook comes 3rd, Twitter 5th, Goodreads 6th, LinkedIn 9th, Tumblr 11th and Pinterest 13th would suggest that Facebook is the best social network to use, with Twitter and Goodreads as additional networks.  That said, it’s clear that we shouldn’t expect miracles in our blog growth by our use of these.  I find it most intriguing that Google Search just edges Facebook.
Of course, we need to be wary of these statistics, which is true of all statistics!  We don’t know how many of the WordPress Reader users originally came to the blog through one of the social networks.
Still, it’s all food for thought.
~ Steve
This entry was posted in general, Imagineer, WordPress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

18 thoughts on “Stats And What They Might Reveal

  1. Interesting post Steve – thank you. It was a bit of an eye-opener. Like many others I thought that Wpress, Fbook and the rest of the gang would be the big hitters. I’m intrigued and not quite clear about the “other” category. If they didn’t use the usual suspects, how did they find you?

    • Thanks 🙂 I was very surprised at the apparent poor performance of the big sites/systems. The “other” category are mostly direct referrals from other blogs, with a small contribution from some of those buttons at the side of the blog. The button links contributed such small numbers each (1 or 2 at most) that listing them simply wasn’t worthwhile. Personally, I think that demonstrates how important mutual support is for Indies 😉

      • I have even gotten a couple hits from tumblr, (maybe 2 since I started, but I am never on tumblr, so that was amazing to me!) I get maybe one here and there from facebook and I don’t think I have ever gotten any from twitter. Which I find to be a complete waste of time and can’t figure out **grins**

      • Sounds like the social networks are a real flop for you 😉 From the stats, I suspect that may be truer for all of us than we’d like to think!

  2. I’m wary too – when I’m sauntering through the interwebbing I usually find pots of gold at the end of a series or three or four unrelated clicks, a chain of following hopeful-looking links. Click click click – aha! I don’t think that would record in any logs very meaningfully. I’ve yet to find a book through a google search from a “cold” start, it’s always been link, link, recommendation, info, link, cllick – aha for me.

    • LOL if you ever need to offload any pots of gold… 😀 I know what you mean about the chain of links! I’ve only had success finding books using very specific search criteria, which is fine as long as you can do that. Mind you, I have to admit that I’m fairly pleased with the results I get ‘Googling’ my own name 😉 That tends to throw up reasonably useful links.

    • Thanks 🙂

      Yes, I could weep for the endless hours of hard graft on the social networks.

      Blog hops seem to go to places that make a business of them, with the organisers being paid to ‘find’ host blogs. It’s a peculiar system, considering most organisers simply maintain a mailing list, in effect. I know some do more, and may well be worth the price, but I’ll admit that I’d never pay, as an author, any more than I’d charge as a host.

  3. Pingback: About Book Promotion | The Healthy Bacon

Please leave your comment(s)

