“I’ll do it tomorrow…”

I was chatting with a fellow author, by email.  It turned out that we had both been prompted to get on with writing – now!  We had both had a brush with death that was too close for comfort.  That sounds enormously dramatic.  Believe me – it is!  I have no desire to repeat the experience, that’s for sure.  But it got me wondering about how many other authors had suffered similar experiences.  It would make an interesting study.

We’re all guilty of putting things off until some later time, which often doesn’t materialise.  That’s especially true with ‘hobbies’.  All too often, it’s our creative impulses that are pushed aside, either by genuinely important things, like raising a family, or just plain lethargy.  We’ve all seen the joke: “National Apathy Day – Cancelled due to lack of interest”.  I’m afraid that writing, like so many creative hobbies, is burdened by apathy and an unwillingness to challenge a seemingly insurmountable weariness, brought on by work, family, travel and all the other tedious, everyday ‘realities’.  Those same things which inspire non-writers to view us rather jealously as being non-workers lounging about, drinking vast quantities of alcohol and generally not having a care in the world.  They’re wrong to see us like that, of course, but then we don’t exactly give our creativity its fair due, either.

I have said previously that I’ve always felt driven to write.  You’d think, then, that I spent every available second doing just that.  In fact, I just shoved it aside as much as possible. It just didn’t seem to be a worthwhile use of what ‘leisure time’ I had.  That was particularly true when family issues were put against it.  If I’m absolutely honest, though, there were plenty of hours when I could have been writing.  Those times spent watching television or just doing nothing were a complete waste.  Oh, I had moments, when the writing bug struck hard enough to make me actually follow through with it, but they were very rare.

Today, I’m more afraid of not having enough time to write all that I’d like to.  I fear that dark figure who walked far too close beside me for a while.  The thought of dying without ever really trying is far more chilling than I would have thought possible.  I now feel compelled to write at two levels.  First, there is that old bug that’s nagged at me for decades.  Second, there’s a sense of living on borrowed time.  In case you’re wondering, I’m not at all religious.  I’m afraid I don’t feel as though I was given a kick by God.  I can’t provide a story to inspire at that level.  Honestly, if that was God, then it’s one really nasty way to make a person do something!

I appeal to you!  Don’t put things off.  Not anything!  Life is just too unpredictable.

~ Steve

This entry was posted in general, Steve K Smy, Writing and tagged , , by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

13 thoughts on ““I’ll do it tomorrow…”

  1. It took my hubby challenging me to prove that I really wanted to be a writer to make me focus. I started getting up at 5am every morning and putting in 1.5 to 2 hours of writing before I start my day. But, it’s still a challenge. I get sucked in by FB. Some days I’m so sick of editing the same stories over and over, and then there is the really big edit that I’m afraid to get into cause I know it’s going to be a huge deal.
    So, thanks for the reminder to jump in and get busy. 🙂 Sorry about your scary brush with death, at least you’re putting it to good use!

    • Good on your hubby! 🙂 I’m no good at that time in the morning, but it’s not unheard of for me to be writing away until about 3am. Much better carrying over from the day before than starting the new day LOL!

      The social networks are all lethal! It’s so easy to get stuck – like walking into a really good maze, with no map! I have to be strong and just give them an hour or two a day 😉

      Editing is a real pain – especially when you’re talking novel length works! It ranks just below going to the dentist :O

      A pleasure 😀 We all need a nudge now and then 😉

      Thanks, but as you say, it was a good kick starter!

  2. putting off editing even now–but to be fair–I have to return the love…:) I almost died when I was 28! A car smacked me but good on my bike, and of course, I grew up in the “no helmet” generation. Interesting, Steve! 🙂

    • LOL I always put off editing for as long as possible 😉

      I had a few close calls on my motorbike, but none that I’d regard as powerful enough to provoke a real reaction. But I was always as well protected as I could be, so that helped a lot 😉 It must have been pretty harrowing actually being hit! That might have been enough even for me!

  3. Great sentiment here, Steve. It often takes a life-changing event, usually negative, to get us to realize that time is at a premium. Unfortunately, most of us are cursed with short memories so your reminder is appreciated!

    • Thanks Phillip 🙂 All too true, sadly. I’m glad that it’s helped give a nudge and remind everybody just how important it is to chase the dream now 😉

  4. Ah! Wise words! We suffer from the same affliction, it seems… And self-kicking works only up to a point. Good luck and plain sailing, Steve! If ever you figure out how to stretch time… remember me… 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | Jo Robinson

  6. Pingback: The Super Sweet Blogging Award | Jo Robinson

Please leave your comment(s)

