Special Post: Confused on pricing at Amazon…

I don’t understand why, but it seems that the price on Amazon.com for For the Sake of Mercy is higher on the site than I have quoted in my blog post!  This doesn’t please me, I can promise you.  I could have accepted a reduction, but an increase?  That’s just not what I want to see.  I was very clear in setting the price at $0.99 (USD) but on the author page it quotes $1.16.  I can’t see the price on the actual book page, but can only assume it’s the same.  I assume that Amazon reserves the right to apply any price it chooses, which I take as yet another reason for not being very keen on using them for my ebooks!

I will keep an eye on this, and query it with Amazon.  I doubt that the latter action will produce anything satisfactory.  Nothing I’ve queried with them so far has yielded a result, other than “let’s discuss this on the ‘phone”.  I don’t do ‘phones due to hearing difficulties, which I’ve pointed out, to no avail.

I apologise for this situation and hope that it can be remedied.


Update

Amazon have stated that the price indicated on their website is correct, at $0.99 but anybody viewing the website from outside the USA may see a higher price if local taxes (such as VAT in Britain and Europe) are applicable.  Obviously, there is no way that I can possibly know anything about those taxes!  I assume that similar adjustments would apply to all Amazon national websites if viewed from another country subject to different taxes.  I now wonder whether, in quoting prices, a rider should be added about such things…  Then again, perhaps it’s wiser to not quote prices – ever!

This entry was posted in general, Steve K Smy and tagged , , , , , , by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

9 thoughts on “Special Post: Confused on pricing at Amazon…

  1. I’m just guessing that you are looking on a UK Amazon site. I think there may a VAT or a wifi delivery fee that is added onto the Amazon price. Bear in mind in in Australia, hence it’s just a guess.

  2. I have seen a pricing difference over the three Amazon sites that I check my book on – US, Canada, and UK – but get this – I only figured out yesterday that my author central information is only on the US site – Canada doesn’t even seem to offer the option. I would have to put it up all over again for the UK site and I’ve had lots of trouble with uploading a picture to that site. And a book review put up to the Canada site is not seen on Amazon.com or the UK site – the poor reviewer would have to put the review up to each site – how crazy is that! Oh and the US and UK site carry the look inside feature for my book – the Canada site doesn’t. I have no idea why they can’t make information consistent across all the sites. Sorry for going on my own little rant here – think I better do my own post on this issue. Good luck with your pricing issues.

    • Thanks! I think that the tax issue is the problem when I look. I agree! We need consistency. I’ve got a proper author page on the UK site but the US site refuses to let me log in 😦 It would be so much better if the information simply updated from your home country’s site.

      I reckon you could make a good blog post on the whole mess 🙂

      Cheers.

  3. Amazon have responded. It IS the case that those outside the US will see the price PLUS any local tax(es) – VAT in my case. I’ll update the post with that information shortly. I feel quite foolish now LOL I say that, but I’m also very touched by the help you have all given – thank you all again! 🙂

Please leave your comment(s)

