A Personal View On Censorship

There can’t be many people who haven’t heard something of the debate over PayPal’s attempts to censor epublications. Of course, we know that the credit card companies are behind that. Now, I’ve a few thoughts and questions and I hope I’ll be forgiven if I go over old, well trodden ground.

I’ll admit that there are certain things I, personally, wish nobody found it necessary to write about. My form of censorship is to refuse to buy those works – the equivalent of changing channels on the TV, or the power button.

Now, let me ask a question: Are PayPal and the credit card companies only applying this censorship to Epublications? I haven’t heard anything suggesting that bookshops are about to discover that those highly controversial hardbacks, paperbacks, graphic novels and comics can no longer be included on PayPal or credit card bills. Has that been established? When will we see the share prices in the credit card companies plummet as people rediscover that peculiar thing: cash!?! I assume PayPal are aware of the power they actually hold, being the largest online payment method. If so, then why the finger-pointing? Perhaps other shadowy figures lurk in the background? Luddite fanatics determined to preserve the staggering, stumbling publishing industry, whose continued existence has been in doubt for decades before the electronic revolution. Do they exist? Need we fear the “Men in Paper”? Or are the credit card companies really so dense that they can’t figure out that the words in “Terms and Conditions” can actually be… changed! Yes, I know! They’ve forgotten that typos in manuscripts can be corrected. Perhaps that’s the problem? But seriously, PayPal and the Puppetmasters are the world’s new Committee of Public Morality… when can we stop gaping in disbelief?

Please somebody, wake me when the lunatics are no longer in control of the asylum! I know that this can’t be happening! Therefore, I’m in the throes of a surreal dream!

This entry was posted in general and tagged by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

Please leave your comment(s)

