Book Trailer and News in General

Book Trailer Released!

You may have seen already, if you follow me via Twitter or Facebook.  I have released a book trailer, for The Sigil of Ahriman.  I announced it yesterday, but there was a slight hiccough with the video.  As it seems to be impossible to upload a revision to an existing video, I’ve had to lock out the one from yesterday and I’ve now uploaded the corrected version.  I had fun with this video, using special effects.  I deliberately selected an enhancement that makes it look like an old film, as I think that fits with the book’s character.  I was even more delighted to find the soundtrack, which is Anxiety by Kevin MacLeod, (incompetech.com) [Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0, creativecommons.org/licenses...].  Here’s the trailer:

The paperback edition of the book is getting closer all the time.  Watch for an announcement in a future post!

Revisions

In addition to writing the next book in the series, I’m working on revisions of the first book, Shade of Evil.  This will include some significant changes, so it will appear as a ‘second edition’.  I’ve been considering changing the cover, too, but haven’t made a decision on that as yet.  It isn’t a case of not liking the thinking behind the existing cover, but more a matter of making the two editions obviously different.

I’m also still working on the new story for the Thief series.

Eyesight Problems

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been experiencing some eyesight problems.  This has significantly reduced the amount of time I can spend dealing with things online.  Naturally, I have devoted as much time as I can to actual writing, as I can no longer devote late hours to that.  If I seem to have overlooked emails from anybody, I sincerely apologise!  Obviously, I deal with things as best I can, handling the most urgent emails, keeping the blog up to date, and writing.  I’m afraid that other things have to be fitted in as and when I can manage to do so.  Nobody is more frustrated by the situation than I.

~ Steve

This entry was posted in Author, general, Imagineer, Novella, Steve K Smy, WIP, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

About Steve

An author since the age of 13 years, writing again dominates my activities. My "Imagineer-ing" blog is my primary site. Also: Beginner knitter since November 2010. Favourite knitting techniques: cable and lace. Beginner cross stitcher. Beginner jewellery maker. With the promotion of self publication and all the other work that has been going on here, Dad decided around 2am this morning (22/11/2013) that it was time to begin his next adventure. He was seen off earlier the previous evening by myself, my brother, my sister in law, and my sister, as well as his wife (our mum), and an enigmatic being known only as A Lorraine. After this time of story telling, laughing, crying, joking and mickey taking, we saw how tired both mum and dad were, and we decided to leave them under the (sometimes) gentle care of The Lorraine. When Dad found the timetable for his travels, he let Mum know gently, which woke her from her drowsing, then, with the same gentleness he showed in this universe, he boarded his favourite mode of transport, the Interdimensional Steam Train, and set off with a smile and a wave. For those of us closest, that smile was a reminder that his pain has ended, and the wave, an indicator that he will pop in to all those that knew him, from time to time. Usually at the most inconvenient and in opportune moments he can. While we are sad that he is no longer here, we are happy he now has no pain, and is experiencing more extraordinary things that his writers mind will be frantically weaving into a new story. Posted by Son Damien

12 thoughts on “Book Trailer and News in General

    • Thanks :) This one includes photos from trips to the Peak District, where part of the book is set. Just using a photo slideshow, though, wouldn’t be very interesting ;) SO, using Windows Movie Maker, I applied different effects until I got a suitably ‘spooky’ atmosphere ;) The hard part, in some respects, is getting the text parts right, as the software doesn’t give you much space to play with. It’s a bit like using Twitter LOL! The music/soundtrack is from a royalty free site run by Kevin MacLeod, who offers lots of different tracks, of various lengths and moods. Ideally, of course, I’d rather use actual video clips, but I don’t have any of the right nature for the stories I write :)

  1. Well done, Steve! Congratulations on a beautiful and intriguing trailer. The scenery is breathtaking. Smiled to see Kevin MacLeod mentioned. I love him, too. Especially his version of Bach’s “Sheep May Safely Graze.” Beautiful. Much success with the series and the trailer!

    Sure hope you are doing better soon. Much love from the across the Pond.

    • Thanks :) The Peak District is wonderful! While the mountains may seem puny compared to others, they somehow seem appropriate for England ;) I could have gotten lost on Kevin’s site :D He has so much on there – I found myself sorely tempted to go off subject LOL! Thanks – I have my fingers crossed ;)

      Thanks, I’m hoping to get a bit more rest – that may help ;)

  2. The Peak District is the one corner of England I’ve missed, much to my regret. Hopefully someday ! I also know Scotland and imagine there is a similarity in the landscape? You are very blessed to have such splendor (and deep history and lore) so near. Likewise, to have the heart, soul to appreciate it.

    Rest well and get well soon.

    • I love the Peaks, but they’re more than a half day away, which is well beyond my tolerances now. I would certainly recommend the area to anybody who loves nature and spectacle ;) I suspect that the Scottish highlands are more impressive, rather like the Cumbrian mountains, but I’ve never been to Scotland, sadly. There is, indeed, a very deep history to the Peaks, especially many of the caves, but of course that;s true of most of the country ;) As for appreciating it all – I learnt that from my Dad, a long time ago :)

      Thanks, I’ll try :)

Please leave your comment(s)

